New Zealand Indian Central Association (Inc.) was formed in 1926 with three branches Auckland, Country Section (Taumarunui) and Wellington, where there was a sizeable population of Indians residing.

The Indian community throughout New Zealand at that time in its history, felt the need for a single body to represent them in their fight against oppressive legislation and discriminatory immigration policy, and to promote harmony between Indians, the Maori people, and the dominant European population in New Zealand; and to respond to misleading propaganda concerning Indians living in New Zealand. The Central Association was also formed to advance the cause of all Indians, be it political, educational, health, welfare or cultural identity.

Today the three branches have grown into ten independent, self governing, incorporated branches throughout New Zealand, all affiliated to the New Zealand Indian Central Association (Inc.)

The Officers of the Association consist of: President, Vice President, General Secretary, Assistant Secretary and Treasurer. The affairs of the Association are managed and controlled by the Executive Committee plus a nominated member from each affiliated branch. The Executives meet quarterly or more if the need arises. The Officers and the Committee are elected at the Annual Conference attended by delegates from each branch.


Community Services