Enabling diversity to thrive.


The Ministry for Ethnic Communities is the government’s chief advisor on ethnic communities, ethnic diversity and the inclusion of ethnic communities in wider society.

Ethnic communities make a huge contribution to Aotearoa New Zealand's social fabric and economy. They represent 20 per cent of our population; almost a million people and growing. We are an increasingly diverse nation and this diversity is a source of strength.

On this site, you will find information about our organisation, our work and the communities we serve. 

About us

GFXX7500 v4

Ethnic Advantage Conference

Our first Ethnic Advantage conference was held in Ōtepoti Dunedin in November 2022. Representatives from various ethnic communities, government ministries and other organisations came together to share their stories, discuss issues important to them and make new connections. It was a time for reflection, celebration and looking ahead to a more inclusive Aotearoa New Zealand.

Our funds

  • Ethnic Communities Development Fund
    This fund has $4.2 million a year available for ethnic community groups to carry out projects in their communities.
    Learn more
  • Ethnic Communities COVID-19 Vaccine Uptake Fund
    This funding is available for activities that directly support vaccination uptake by Ethnic Communities.
    Learn more
  • Ethnic Communities Digital Inclusion Fund
    The aim of his fund is to ensure ethnic communities can use digital technology so they can take part in Aotearoa New Zealand's society.
    Learn more

Our programmes

We work with communities, other government agencies and a range of organisations to help increase social cohesion and ensure Aotearoa New Zealand is a place where everyone feels welcome, valued and empowered to be themselves.
DIWALI2020 004

Ethnic Communities in New Zealand

Based on the 2018 Census, ethnic communities make up around a fifth of New Zealand’s population, almost a million people. This includes new and temporary migrants, former refugees, asylum-seekers, long-term settlers and those born in New Zealand.