Our Director is Anita Balakrishnan. The Office of Ethnic Communities is made up of two teams: Community Engagement, and Planning, Systems and Services.

Keep up to date with our projects and ethnic diversity issues by subscribing to our contact list. Email ethnic.communities@dia.govt.nz. Please provide your name, contact phone number, your region and an email address.

Community Engagement team

This team engages with ethnic communities to identify their perspectives on government activity and/or facilitate government consultation; with government agencies, to provide grounded community intelligence on policy and service development; and with other key stakeholders such as local government and business groups. This team safeguards and exhibits our intention that “community engagement is at the heart of the Office of Ethnic Communities”.

Planning, Systems and Services team

This team oversees business planning, accountability reporting, systems development and maintenance. It also manages and delivers some direct services including the Nominations Service and the Ethnic Communities Development Fund. The team provides the Office with administrative support, expertise in navigating various Department of Internal Affairs processes, and manages stakeholder engagement channels. It also monitors and reports against the strategic goals and focus areas of our work programme.

We report to the Deputy Chief Executive Policy, Regulation and Communities(external link) at the Department of Internal Affairs(external link). Through the Department, the Office of Ethnic Communities contributes to broader public sector efforts to deliver on government goals. In particular, we contribute to shaping Safer Communities Initiatives and empowering ethnic communities to succeed and contribute.

Our Minister for Ethnic Communities is Hon Jenny Salesa(external link).

Careers with us

To find out about employment opportunities at the Office of Ethnic Communities, visit the Department of Internal Affairs Vacancies(external link).

Last modified: